Tuesday, 28 February 2012

The Agony & The Ecstasy by High Contrast

Genre: Drum N Bass
Well after a long absence, the Welsh wizard High Contrast is finally back with a new album on Hospital records known as "The Agony & The Ecstasy". On this album he had the likes of Tiesto, Underworld, Claire Maguire and Selah Corbin.
When I listened to this album I found it very different from his previous works. It did not feel like an drum n bass album. It felt like High Contrast was actually trying to do something completely different. There were less of those soulful samples but more vocals from guest artists. The deep bass lines and hard drums were not present as frequently as before. Some tracks did not even feel like dnb tracks, but more like house music.
The track that really stood out for me was "The Stand" and "Emotional Vampire". I really enjoyed these tracks.
So for hardcore DNB fans this album is more of a let down, but for others it is good.
Rate B
01 – The Agony & The Ecstasy (ft. Selah Corbin)
02 – The Road Goes On Forever
03 – Wish You Were Here (ft. Selah Corbin)
04 – Almost Human (ft. Clare Maguire)
05 – The Only Way There (ft. Selah Corbin)
06 – The First Note Is Silent (ft. Tiesto & Underworld)
07 – Emotional Vampire
08 – Two Hundred & Thirty Eight Days (ft. Underworld)
09 – Not Waving, But Drowning (ft. Lung & Jessy Allen)
10 – Father, Can’t You See I’m Burning
11 – The Stand
12 – All There Is (ft. Liane Carroll)

No comments:

Post a Comment